North Carolina has a new safety campaign aimed at decreasing the number of DWIs within the state. Sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Transportation and the Governor's Highway Safety Program, the campaign's goal is to educate drivers on the penalties of a DWI.
Did you know that around three out of every 10 Americans will be involved in an alcohol-related crash? For teenagers, car crashes are the leading cause of death and in one-third of those crashes, alcohol was involved? Another statistic is that someone is killed by an intoxicated driver in the United States every 45 minutes.
The law in North Carolina is very strict on DWIs. For example, anyone who refuses to take a breath, blood or urine test as requested by a police officer will have their driver's license suspended for 30 days. Those who have a revoked license and are convicted of DWI could lose their vehicle through the state's seizure and forfeiture laws. Someone who doesn't have a license, insurance and is impaired can lose his or her vehicle, too.
The penalties for a first time DWI include:
-- One year revocation of your driver's license.
-- A minimum of 24 hours of community service, 24 hours in jail or any combination the judge sees fit.
-- A fine of up to $4,000.
-- A minimum of 30 days in jail to a maximum of 24 months.
As you can see the punishment for a first-time DWI is strict in North Carolina. If you are facing such charges, an experienced lawyer can help. He or she can help you determine your next course of action.
Source: North Carolina Governor’s Highway Safety Program, "Booze It & Lose It," accessed Nov. 04, 2016