Think A First-Time DWI Is Not A Serious Offense? Better Think Again.
In North Carolina, even first-time DWI/DUI offenders face significant penalties, including potential time in jail, fines and even license suspensions.
If the police have charged you with drunk driving, you need an experienced lawyer in your corner defending your rights. At Nixon Law Offices, PA, I understand what is at stake when dealing with DWI/DUI charges, and I will do everything we can to safeguard your future and keep your record clean. As a former assistant district attorney, I know what it takes to be successful in the courtroom, so let me fight for you.
DWI Consequences For First-Time Offenders
A first-time DWI offender may face a wide variety of penalties depending on the severity of his or her alleged offense. For instance, North Carolina law categorizes DWIs into five separate sentencing levels, with a level 5 DWI being the least severe. However, even though a level 5 DWI carries the most lenient punishment, the penalties can still be harsh, including:
- Jail time of 24 hours to 60 days, although this may be suspended in lieu of 24 hours of community service
- Fine of $200
- Pretrial/administrative license suspension of 30 days, although if you submit to a pretrial alcohol assessment, you may be able to get limited driving privileges from day 11 to 30
- Administrative license suspension of one year if you refuse chemical testing
- License suspension of up to one year following a DWI conviction, although you may be eligible for limited driving privileges under certain circumstances (underage DUI offenders are not eligible for limited driving privileges following a conviction, however)
In addition, if certain aggravating factors are present ― such as a particularly high blood alcohol concentration (BAC) ― the level of your offense will increase, and so will your punishment. In fact, a level 1 DWI may result in a jail sentence of up to two years, even if it is a first-offense DWI.
Additional Risks For College Students
College students not only face criminal penalties following a DWI, but, depending on the circumstances, a criminal conviction may also impact their academic standing and their ability to obtain financial aid. In some cases, alleged criminal conduct can result in a variety of serious consequences such as:
- Suspension or even expulsion
- Limited future opportunities (jobs, graduate school or other professional programs)
- Revocation of scholarships or other financial aid
- Alcohol education classes
- University disciplinary actions/processes
Whether you are facing a first-time DWI offense or allegations of underage drinking, you need an experienced attorney by your side. I regularly help students from several of the nearby colleges, including The University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Greensboro College, High Point University and Guilford College. Let me help protect your future.
What Are You Waiting For? Schedule Your Free Consultation Now.
Whether you are a college student, an underage driver or simply someone who has never been arrested for drunk driving before, contact Nixon Law Offices, PA. I offer free criminal defense consultations, so call me at 336-885-5959 or email me online. I defend clients in High Point and throughout the surrounding areas, including Greensboro, Lexington and Thomasville.